Home 9 Ontario Ski Racing Awards
Skier racing slalom

Alpine Ontario Alpin’s (AOA) provincial awards program recognizes outstanding performance and contributions in the sport of ski racing in Ontario.

AOA recognizes various categories to honour recipients for their dedication, athletic success, performance, and passion for the sport of ski racing.

2024 Ontario Ski Racing Awards Details

2024 Award Categories

1. Skiis & Biikes Athlete of the Year: Alpine – Male & Female; Para-Alpine and Ski Cross

The AOA Athlete of the Year will be awarded to one male and one female athlete from alpine, one athlete (either male or female) from para, and one athlete (either male or female) from ski cross.

2. Anthony Pacione Coach of the Year

The AOA Skiis & Biikes Coach of the Year Award is in honor of Anthony Pacione’s dedication to outstanding coaching performance that results in exceptional and demonstrated athlete advancement in alpine, para-alpine, or ski cross racing. Pacione’s home ski club was the Osler Bluff Ski Club.

3. Fasken Volunteer of the Year

Recognizes one or more volunteers in the sport of Ontario ski racing who have made an extraordinary contribution to their Club, Division, or Province, and to the sport in general. This award recognizes the important role of volunteers as they support their children, team, club, or sport as a whole.

4. Robert Shore Official of the Year

This award recognizes an Official in the sport of Ontario ski racing who has made an extraordinary contribution to their Club, Division, Province, and to the sport in general. This award was created in honour of the outstanding dedication to the sport made by Robert Shore, a former FIS TD Official.

5. Karbon Event of the Year

The Event of the Year is awarded to a ski club or race organizing committee that demonstrated an exceptional commitment to Ontario ski racing, through one or more ski racing events that support the local, Provincial, National, and even International community.

6. Spirit of Sandy Proctor Award

Embracing the characteristics in honour of Sandy Proctor, who for many years was the face of the Nancy Greene Ski League in Southern Ontario and had an enormous love for both the participants of this sport and the entire sport. This award recognizes the extraordinary contributions of one or more individuals to the “Spirit of Ontario Ski Racing”. This person(s) is always wearing a smile and is a positive and motivating force to the people around him or her. This award recognizes the important role of motivators as they support the spirit of sport with their children, team, club, Division, or Province.

7. Builder of the Year

Formerly the Chairperson’s Award, the Builder Award is for the extraordinary contributions of one or more individuals to the sport of Ontario Ski Racing. and is intended to recognize one or more individual’s lifetime contributions to Ontario Ski Racing.

8. Mackenzie Investments Race Ski Club of the Year

The Performance Ski Club of the Year presented by Mackenzie Investments is awarded to one Ontario ski club that has distinguished themselves as being invested in its members and athletes on and off the hill. They provide exceptional ski racing programming, support the development of athletic success, and have built an incredible culture for its members and their families. (This a #8 voting category that will open Mar 14th and run until April 30th. This is an online vote for no more than 5 finalists and allows the club with the most votes to win!)

Please click here for information on all awards and their selection criteria.

Award Timelines

Nominations Open: March 14, 2024

Nominations Close: April 29, 2024

Selection Committee Review for Finalists: w/o April 30, 2024

Voting Opens for Club of the Year: Fall, 2024

Voting Closes: Later Fall, 2024

Awards Presentation:  At the AOA Fall Gala – Date TBD


The 2024 Awards selection committee will consist of a member from each division, along with AOA’s Executive Director. The Communications and Member Services Manager will join to assist with logistics, but will not have a vote.

The committee will review the nominations submitted to the AOA and create a ‘short list’ of no more than five (5) per category using the various award criteria.

The committee members are not entitled to submit nominations in any of the categories listed below and shall recuse themselves from voting on any nominee where there is a direct conflict of interest (e.g., family member).